GillespieShields is committed to providing access to exceptional legal services throughout the current coronavirus (COVID-19) crisis. The firm is providing a reduction on all professional fees for new hourly matters through May 1, 2020. Please call our intake team today, 602 870 9700. Learn more

What to Expect With Your First DUI Offense in Arizona

The attorneys at GillespieShields practice family, employment, civil, criminal, probate, appellate, and immigration law.

Last week we wrote an article addressing 5 reasons to avoid getting a DUI, however, if you missed it and are now facing your first DUI offense, here’ s what you can expect and how an attorney might be able to help.

What is a DUI?

Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is considered a criminal offense and can have serious consequences, even if it is a first-time offense.

The blood alcohol content (BAC) limits for motorists are .08 in all states, but the punishments vary from state to state. Arizona has even more severe penalties than most, requiring mandatory jail time for first offenders. So, what are the laws and the consequences of being charged with a DUI?

Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) Limits

  • “Per Se” BAV Limit: 0.08 Percent
  • Zero Tolerance (Underage) BAC Limit: 0.00 Percent
  • Enhanced Penalty (Extreme) BAC Limit: 0.15 Percent
  • Super Extreme BAC Limit: 0.20 Percent

A person can be charged with a DUI if they are impaired to the slightest degree while driving under the influence of any intoxicating substance, including legal prescription medication and over the counter medications.

 Penalties for a First DUI Offense

Arizona has fairly strict laws around DUI’s, so even if it is your first offense you will be facing some hefty penalties, such as:

  • You will have to serve jail time for at least 10 consecutive days
  • You will be ordered to pay a minimum of $1250.00 in fines
  • All vehicles you own and operate are required to be equipped with a certified ignition interlock device
  • You may be ordered to perform community service

If you are found to have an alcohol concentration of 0.15 of higher, you will be charged with an Extreme DUI and face the following penalties if this is your first offense:

  • You will have to serve jail time for at least 30 consecutive days with no option for probation or suspended sentence.
  • You will be ordered to pay a minimum of $2,500.00
  • All vehicles you own and operate are required to be equipped with a certified ignition interlock device
  • You may be ordered to perform community service

Being caught driving with a blood alcohol concentration 0.20 or higher will result in a Super Extreme DUI charge which carries heavy consequences. For your first offense:

  • You will have to serve jail time for at least 45 consecutive days in jail.
  • You will have to pay a fine of at least $3,200.00 and jail costs and fees of over $3,500.00
  • All vehicles you own and operate are required to be equipped with a certified ignition interlock device
  • You will be ordered to take alcohol abuse classes
  • Your driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days
  • You may receive up to 5 years of probation
  • Your vehicle may be impounded

These penalties can be enhanced if there is a child in the vehicle at the time or if you are driving without a valid driver’s license.

Get Legal Help

The penalties listed above can sound a bit scary, but luckily, first-time DUI offenders might have a few options open to them to reduce those penalties. A good DUI attorney can look at the circumstances in your case and provide advice on which options would be the most successful. A DUI attorney might be able to get your jail time shortened or your fines reduced. An attorney might even be able to assist in getting the charge reduced or entirely thrown out depending on the circumstances surrounding how the charge was administered.

At GillespieShields, we have dedicated and experienced DUI attorneys who can help you navigate the court system and potentially minimize the penalties against you. Call us today at 602-870-9700 or contact us to discuss your case.

Disclaimer

The information contained on this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. You should consult an attorney for legal advice concerning your individual situation. We welcome you to contact us via phone, electronic mail, or through this website. However, contacting us does not create an attorney-client relationship.  Please do not send us confidential information until such time as an attorney-client relationship is established.

 

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Contact Us


Phoenix

7319 North 16th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020 | 602-870-9700

Mesa

1630 S. Stapley Drive, Suite 212, Mesa, AZ 85204 | 480-985-4000

COPYRIGHT ©2019 GILLESPIE SHIELDS| ALL RIGHTS RESERVED | WEBSITE DESIGNED BY RAIN

Enjoy What You're Reading?

Thank you for showing your interest in our blog. If you would like to subscribe to read more, please enter your email address below. We promise to respect your inbox.

Thank you for subscribing to our website. -GillespieShields Team

Share This